Wood Producers Council


The Wood Producers Council is a group of MFA Professional Members who advise the MFA Board of Directors on issues and policy specific to licensed timber harvesters, timber harvesting and the forest industry in Massachusetts.  The Wood Producers Council is made up of licensed Massachusetts timber harvesters and owners of forest businesses who, through education, training and experience, have demonstrated their knowledge and ability to harvest and utilize forest resources to benefit both landowners and the community at large in a constantly changing economic environment.

In addition to advising the MFA Board of Directors, the Wood Producers Council works to provide continuing education opportunities to licensed timber harvesters and other forest professionals throughout the Commonwealth. The Wood Producers Council works to promote sound forest management practices, to educate themselves and inform the public concerning current harvesting techniques and to improve the standards and climate for timber harvesting and utilization in the Commonwealth.

The Wood Producers Council is governed by an Executive Committee, consisting of a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and two members of the Council at large, elected by the membership of the Wood Producers Council.

2014 Wood Producers Council Officers

Daniel Oleksak – Chair
Jay Healy
John Conkey
Justin McKinney
Fred Jajko
Kimball Moore
Dennis Rand


The Wood Producers Council began in 1952 as the Massachusetts Wood Producers Association as an organization of the primary wood manufacturing industry in Massachusetts, representing sawmill operators, loggers, truckers, firewood dealers and businesses associated with the forest industry. In 2012 the Wood Producers membership voted to become part of the Massachusetts Forest Alliance to unite those committed to a strong, sustainable forest economy in Massachusetts, and allowing MFA to represent woodland owners and forest industry professionals with one strong, collective voice.